Celebrating Kwanzaa

Did you know Kwanzaa is celebrated Dec 26th - Jan 1st? 

Dr. Maulana Karenga, created Kwanzaa in 1966.   After the Watts riots in Los Angeles, he searched for ways to bring African Americans together as a community. 

Kwanzaa is not a religious holiday and is not meant to be an alternative to religious holidays, like Christmas.  

Each of the seven days of Kwanzaa is dedicated to one of the principles:

  1. Umoja (Unity): To strive for and to maintain unity in the family, community, nation, and race.
  2. Kujichagulia (Self-Determination): To define and name ourselves, as well as to create and speak for ourselves.
  3. Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility): To build and maintain our community together and make our brothers' and sisters' problems our problems and to solve them together.
  4. Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics):  To build and maintain our own stores, shops, and other businesses and to profit from them together.
  5. Nia (Purpose): To make our collective vocation the building and developing of our community in order to restore our people to their traditional greatness.
  6. Kuumba (Creativity): To do always as much as we can, in the way we can, in order to leave our community more beautiful and beneficial than we inherited it.
  7. Imani (Faith): To believe with all our hearts in our people, our parents, our teachers, our leaders, and the righteousness and victory of our struggle.

Click here for a great article all about Kwanzaa


Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.